This is a test Server, please visit for current information

Skip to Main Content

York’s Teacher Education Program Receives National Award

Congratulations to the York College Teacher Education department for its recently awarded 2020 CAEP- The Council for Accreditation of Educational Program’s Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for "Continuous Improvement."

In a letter to the college announcing the coveted award, the prestigious accrediting organization remarked that “Your institution, faculty, and students truly have demonstrated a commitment to equity and excellence in educator preparation through the effective use of self-study procedures and evidence-based reporting.”

Putting it into perspective, they informed York College that the Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement “is reserved for those educator preparation providers that receive Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) accreditation with no Stipulations or Areas for Improvement. Fewer than 10% of providers that were accredited during the past year were named recipients of the Murray Award.”

The award was named after the founding President of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). “He was a key advocate for the use of a single set of teacher preparation standards to unify the profession and to assure quality and continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 learning. As the sole provider of educator preparation recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), CAEP remains committed to upholding these standards

Do you have a story or an accomplishment you would like to share? It is not too late to share your story, you never know who you will inspire! Share with us today!